Meet the Team

Upcoming Officers

Click here for the latest information on Section elections, incoming officers, etc.

Officer Roles

Click here for descriptions of each officers’ role (including appointed and elected officer positions).

Current Officers

Kirsten Schwarz, PhD | Chairperson

view bio

Skylar Bayer, PhD | Secretary

Headshot of smiling woman with short hair and ball cap

view bio

Bob Newman, PhD | Chairperson-elect

Man with sunglasses and wide-brimmed hat

Bio coming soon!

Emily Whalen, PhD student | Liaison to Student Section

view bio

Linh Anh Cat, PhD | Liaison to Policy Section

Linh Anh Cat Headshot

view bio

Annaliese Hettinger, PhD | Past Chairperson | Editor

view bio

Section Co-founders

Clarisse Hart (bio), Holly Menninger (bio), Bethann Garramon Merkle (bio), Molly Mehling (bio), Chris Chreese (bio)

Past Officers

  • 2019-2020: Kirsten Schwarz (chairperson), Skylar Bayer (secretary), Bob Newman (chairperson-elect), Annaliese Hettinger (past chairperson; bio), Linh Anh Cat (liaison to policy section), Emily Whalen (liaison to student section)
  • 2018-2019: Annaliese Hettinger (chairperson), Jennifer Purrenhage (secretary; bio), Kirsten Schwarz (chairperson-elect), Bethann Garramon Merkle (past chairperson; bio), Skylar Bayer (liaison to policy section), Emily Whalen (liaison to student section)
  • 2017-2018: Bethann Garramon Merkle (chairperson; webmaster), Jennifer Purrenhage (secretary), Annaliese Hettinger (chairperson-elect), Kika Tuff (past chairperson; bio)
  • 2016-2017: Kika Tuff (chairperson), Annaliese Hettinger (secretary), Bethann Garramon Merkle (chairperson-elect; webmaster), Holly Menninger (past chairperson)
  • 2014-2016: Holly Menninger (chairperson; bio), Clarisse Hart (secretary; bio), Bethann Garramon Merkle (webmaster)