Solutions for Sustainability and Earth Stewardship

Solutions for Sustainability includes a series of symposia and workshops to examine and articulate the intellectual foundations for a new sustainability science, the ESA Sustainability Science Award, and participation in activities of other organizations. Examples to date have included a special session, “Ecological Sustainability in a World of Constant Change: Developing a New Research Agenda for ESA,” organized by Vice President for Science Gus Shaver, President Nancy Grimm, and Science Director Cliff Duke at the 2005 Annual Meeting; an NSF-sponsored workshop “Ecological Foundations of Sustainability in a Constantly Changing World” at Brown University in March 2007, and a symposium at the 2008 AAAS meeting. These efforts have been coordinated by a Steering Committee led by Gus Shaver and including Terry Chapin, Cliff Duke, Ann Kinzig, Debra Peters, and Osvaldo Sala.

The Earth Stewardship Initiative

The science of earth stewardship requires interdisciplinary collaboration among many natural and social sciences, including climate, earth, and ocean science, environmental sciences, ecology, psychology, sociology, political science, and anthropology. The Ecological Society of America (ESA), in partnership with other academic societies, agencies, and non-governmental groups, seeks to foster earth stewardship. For more information, please visit ESA Earth Stewardship Initiative.

Sustainable Rangelands Roundtable (SRR)

Sustainable Rangelands Roundtable (SRR)The Sustainable Rangelands Roundtable (SRR) is a collaborative partnership of rangeland scientists and managers, ecologists, sociologists, economists, policy and legal experts, environmental advocates, and industry and user group representatives. The mission of the SRR is to promote social, ecological, and economic sustainability of rangelands through the development and widespread use of the criteria and indicators for rangeland assessments, and by providing a forum for dialogue on sustainability of rangelands. Science Director Cliff Duke serves on the Steering Committee of the SRR and represents ESA at meetings.

The Sustainable Water Resources Roundtable (SWRR)

The Sustainable Water Resources Roundtable (SWRR) brings together representatives of federal agencies, state governments, interstate councils, nongovernmental organizations, and corporations to further the understanding and decision making needed to sustain the quality and availability of the nation’s water resources, and the communities, businesses and ecosystems that depend on them. Science Programs Manager Jill Parsons is a member of the SWRR and represents ESA at meetings.

Sustainability Science Award

ESA’s Sustainability Science Award recognizes the authors of the peer reviewed paper published in the past five years that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences. Additional information about nominations for the award can be found at ESA Awards page (click on Sustainability Science Award) and a list of award winners is located at (click on Sustainability Science Award (2004 – ).

The North American Pollinator Protection Campaign (NAPPC)

The North American Pollinator Protection Campaign (NAPPC) is an alliance of researchers, conservation and environmental groups, private industry, and state and federal agencies concerned about the health of the continent’s pollinating animals. ESA, represented by Science Office staff, is a NAPPC partner and active participant in the annual meeting, task forces, and committees.

Plant Conservation Alliance (PCA)

PCAESA has joined many professional societies, arboreta, and other organizations as a Cooperator with the Plant Conservation Alliance (PCA), a cooperative program of a number of Federal agencies, which seeks to address problems related to native plant conservation and restoration. The Science Office represents ESA at Alliance meetings.