Skip to main content

Sustainability Science Award

Sustainability Science Award

The Sustainability Science Award is given to the authors of a scholarly work that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences. One of the most pressing challenges facing humanity is the sustainability of important ecological, social, and cultural processes in the face of changes in the forces that shape ecosystems and regions.

  • This ESA award is for a single scholarly contribution (book, book chapter, or peer-reviewed journal article) published in the last five years.
  • Awarded annually (frequency)
Past Recipients

Recent recipients are Timon McPhearson, Steward T. A. Pickett, Nancy B. Grimm, Jari Niemelä, Marina Alberti, Thomas Elmqvist, Christiane Weber, Dagmar Haase, Jürgen Breuste, Salman Qureshi

Awards Committee

Explore this year’s members.