Skip to main content

Publications Committee

The ESA Publications Committee works on behalf of the Governing Board to advance the Society’s mission and goals through the dissemination of scholarly research via the journal publication program. The Publications Committee is responsible for:

  • Advising the Editors-in-Chief and Governing Board on publication strategy, assessing relevant publication metrics, and recommending future projects, strategic initiatives, and direction
  • Ensuring that guidelines are created to address issues and meet the needs of the Editors-in-Chief, authors, reviewers, and publications staff
  • Reviewing the performance of Editors-in-Chief who are candidates for reappointment (at the end of each 3-year term) and providing a list of recommended candidates to the Governing Board when Editor-in-Chief positions become vacant
  • Reviewing the operations and strategy of the Society’s journals and recommending changes to publication policy in consultation with Editors-in-Chief, ESA publications staff, and the Society’s publisher

Committee Members

  • Robert Jackson, Stanford University, Chair (2017 – 2020)
  • Sara Baer (2019 – 2020)
  • Jennifer Bhatnagar (2019-2021)
  • Anjali Boyd (2019-2020)
  • Nathan Emery (2019-2020)
  • Selina Heppel (2016 – 2018)
  • Sasha Reed (2019 – 2021)
  • Debjani Sihi (2019-2020)
  • Christine Hawkes (2019-2020)