Skip to main content

Outstanding Paper Award

More next year! We invite submissions for the 2021 Disease Ecology Section Best Student Paper award! The winner receives a great prize and the admiration of the entire section. Details provided below.

2020 Winner

Patrick Clay

Previous Winners

2019: Joseph Hoyt

2018: Fletcher Halliday

2017: Pratha Sah

2016: Jeremy Cohen

2015: Alex Strauss

2021 Call for Nominations for the Outstanding Paper Award 

The best student paper should be awarded for a paper published in the past year led by a student (graduate or undergraduate) who’s advisor is member of the ESA Disease Ecology section. The paper must provide an exciting introduction of a strong new technique, solution of a long-standing open problem, introduction and solution of an interesting and important new problem, etc.

Undergraduate or graduate students and recent M.S. or Ph.D. recipients (within 2 years of receiving the degree) are eligible for this award.

Papers should be innovative or creative (methods, organization, generation of knowledge, or translation to new audiences) with transparent, verifiable, and rigorous methods. Results should be clear and unbiased with scientific importance that has potential relevance to a wide scientific audience, possibly extending to public and professional audiences.

Nominations must meet the following requirements:

1) The paper must result from research done as a student and be in the area of disease ecology.

2) If there are multiple authors, the nominee must be the first author of the paper.

3) The paper must have been published on the journal’s website sometime between May 2018 and May 2019.

4) At the time of the application deadline, the applicant must be a student or have received their degree (M.S. or Ph.D.) within the past 2 years . Graduate students or recent degree recipients must be an active member of the section; undergraduates can either be section members or be advised by a section member.

Papers will be reviewed by the Awards Committee appointed by the Officers of the Disease Ecology Section. One paper award will be selected; the winner will receive a certificate and a $100 prize. The work will be judged based upon the contribution to the field, including originality, study design, methods and analysis, and impact.

A complete nomination packet should include:
1. A copy of the paper

2. A brief advisor statement that the paper primarily represents the student’s work and ideas and confirmation of eligibility of the nominee (either stating date of completion of the degree if the nominee is no longer a student or verifying that the nominee is a current student). Letters may be sent separately from the paper.


DEADLINE: July 15, 2021

Undergraduate or graduate students and recent M.S. or Ph.D. recipients (within 2 years of receiving the degree) are eligible for this award.Applications should be submitted electronically as a PDF. The applicant may choose to send a single PDF, or two files can be sent, one from the applicant including the paper and one from the advisor with the eligibility statement. Send files to the Disease Ecology Section’s Vice-Chair (, with the subject line “Best Paper Award_[Applicant Last Name]”.

The winner will be notified prior to the annual meeting and publicly announced during this year’s Disease Ecology Section Mixer