Virtual Trade Show

Awards » Student Awards for Excellent in Ecology

Murray F. Buell Award and E. Lucy Braun Award

Jacquelyn Gill, Braun Award Winner 2008Murray F. Buell had a long and distinguished record of service and accomplishment in the Ecological Society of America. Among other things, he ascribed great importance to the participation of students in meetings and to excellence in the presentation of papers. To honor his selfless dedication to the younger generation of ecologists, the Murray F. Buell Award for Excellence in Ecology is given to a student for the outstanding oral paper presented at the ESA Annual Meeting.

E. Lucy Braun, an eminent plant ecologist and one of the charter members of the Society, studied and mapped the deciduous forest regions of eastern North America and described them in her classic book, The Deciduous Forests of Eastern North America. To honor her, the E. Lucy Braun Award for Excellence in Ecology is given to a student for the outstanding poster presentation at the ESA Annual Meeting.

Charles Price, Buell Award Winner 2008A candidate for these awards must be an undergraduate, a graduate student, or a recent doctorate not more than 9 months past graduation at the time of the meeting. The paper or poster must be presented as part of the program sponsored by the Ecological Society of America, but the student need not be an ESA member. To be eligible for these awards the student must be the sole or senior author of the oral paper (Note: symposium talks are ineligible) or poster. Papers and posters will be judged on the significance of ideas, creativity, quality of methodology, validity of conclusions drawn from results, and clarity of presentation. While all students are encouraged to participate, winning papers and posters typically describe fully completed projects. The students selected for these awards will be announced in the ESA Bulletin following the Annual Meeting. A certificate and a check for $500 will be presented to each recipient at the next ESA Annual Meeting.

Download additional information and the application form here (PDF). APPLICATIONS ARE DUE MARCH 20, 2009.

If you have any questions about these awards, please contact the Chair of the Student Awards Subcommittee:

Dr. Anita L. Davelos Baines
The University of Texas–Pan American
Phone: (956) 380-8732,
Fax: (956) 381-3657

Albuquerque Skyline Night

Copyright © . All rights reserved.