ESA Biogeosciences Awards 2014

The ESA Biogeosciences Section would like to remind all ESA members that there are three awards available for research in the biogeosciences:

1. The Elizabeth Sulzman Junior Scientist (graduate student) Outstanding Publication award
2. The Gene E. Likens Junior Scientist (early-career) Outstanding Publication award
3. The New Phytologist Best Student Presentation award.

Detailed application information can be found on the awards page of the section website. Deadline for the application is June 21.

You can nominate yourself or others. Section membership is not required, although your support is appreciated!

ESA Biogeosciences Section Officers, 2014-2016

Thank you to everyone who participated in the election to select new leadership for the ESA Biogeosciences Section. Our new leadership starting January 2014 is:

Chair: Josh Schimel, Professor at UC Santa Barbara in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology

Secretary: Jennie McLaren, presently a Postdoc at University of British Columbia and as of Jan 2014 Assistant Professor at University of Texas, El Paso.

2013 ESA Biogeosciences Awards

Congratulations to the 2013 ESA Biogeosciences Section Awards recipients, and thank you to all of our judges!

1. The Elizabeth Sulzman Award for work done as a graduate student went to Lei Cheng for:
Cheng L., Booker F.L., Tu C., Burkey K.O., Zhou L., Shew H.D., Rufty T.W. & Hu S. (2012). Arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi increase organic carbon decomposition under elevated CO2. Science, 337, 1084-1087. [DOI]

2. The Gene E. Likens Award for work done within 5 years of receiving the PhD. went to Park Williams for:
Williams, A.P., Allen, C.D., Macalady, A.K., Woodhouse, C., Meko, D., Swetnam, T.W., Rauscher, S.A., Seager, R., Grissino-Mayer, H.D., Dean, J.S., Cook, E.R, Gangodagamage, C., Cai, M., McDowell, N.G. Temperature as a potent driver of regional forest-drought stress and tree mortality. Nature Climate Change. 3:292-297. [DOI]

3. The Best Student Presentation, supported by the New Phytologist, went to Jessica Corman for
"Growing rocks: Implications of lithification to microbial community ecology in a desert stream"

ESA Biogeosciences Section Officers, 2012-2014

Chair: Whendee L. Silver, professor at UC Berkeley in the Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Management.

Secretary: Kate Buckeridge, postdoc at UC Santa Barbara in the Earth Research Institute.

The section will continue to sponsor awards and to organize the student/faculty dinners during the Annual Meeting. Announcements about these opportunities will be made around May.

Become a new member or renew your membership in ESA and join the Biogeosciences Section (only $5 to join the section!)

Join the ESA Biogeosciences Listserv

Contact Webmaster | Updated 8 September 2010