Skip to main content

Current Award Recipients

Lotka & Volterra Student Presentation Awards (2020)

Ashwini Ramesh, Volterra Award for Best Talk
Indiana University Bloomington
Within-host parasite dynamics: Insights from food web modules and feedback loops
Coauthor: Spencer Hall 

Christina Hernandez, Lotka Award for Best Poster
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Maternal effect senescence and fitness: A demographic analysis of a novel model organism
Coauthors: Silke F. van Daalen, Hal Caswell, Michael G. Neubert, Kristin E. Gribble

Past Years’ Recipients

Outstanding Ecological Theory Paper Award (2020)

The 2020 award goes to Ed Tekwa and collaborators Eli Fenichel, Simon Levin, and Malin Pinsky.

In their PNAS paper “Path-dependent institutions drive alternative stable states in conservation”, the authors use both a new theoretical model and empirical analysis of 217 managed fisheries to demonstrate that ecological and institutional factors can produce historical contingencies which determine dynamics. Their model suggests that, if institutional response rate is slow relative to the ecological response, alternative stable states are possible. Harvest rates form a path-dependent pitchfork bifurcation so that similar institutions may end up in either an overharvesting or conservation stable state. The paper therefore offers a new explanation for the different statuses of fisheries with similar management, and new approaches for switching from overharvesting to conservation.

Past Years’ Recipients
Instruction for application to the awards can be found here.