Skip to main content


ESA Soil Ecology Logo

The Soil Ecology Section of the Ecological Society of America seeks to promote an understanding of the importance of soil biota among ecologists, soil scientists, and members of related disciplines, to encourage education and research in soil ecology, to sponsor meetings and publications for the communication of research and educational activities in soil ecology, and to increase student participation in the Society.

ESA Soil Ecology Section Officers, 2021-2023:
Dr. Lydia Zeglin, Chair, Kansas State University
Dr. Stephanie Kivlin, Vice-Chair, University of Tennessee
Dr. André Franco, Secretary, Colorado State University
Dr. Eva Stricker, Early Career Representative, University of New Mexico


2022 ESA meeting in Montreal: Travel fellowships and career award

Heads up! Apply for a travel fellowship ($400) to the Montreal meeting:

Student Travel Award

4 awards of $400 each


  • Student member of the section at the time of application
  • Presenting talk or poster at the meeting, or have submitted at the time of application
  • Application Requires: All required fields, statement of need, abstract, statement of support or recommendation from advisor

ALSO, nominate folks for the Deborah A. Neher Career Award by June 1 – updated application information will be provided shortly.