Skip to main content


Past Presidents seated together for a group photo.

ESA’s Evolving Leadership

In 1982, these twelve ESA presidents and past-presidents gathered at the annual meeting for a photo. They represent 32 years of ESA history, from 1951 to 1981, but quite a few are missing. The earliest president in attendance for this photo is Samuel Charles Kendeigh, who served in 1951, immediately following ESA’s first female president, E. Lucy Braun, who was…

Read More

David Lodge, ESA President, 2016-17

At the 2016 annual meeting in Fort Lauderdale, David Lodge took office as ESA’s president. As Director of the Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future at Cornell University, he is an expert on invasive species, with research focused on freshwater ecology; invasive species biology and bioeconomics; ecological risk analysis; global changes and biodiversity; and environmental ethics and policy.In September, Dr….

Read More

Past Presidents Addresses

After their term is up, presidents of the ESA give a speech. Originally a “President’s Address,” this task later became a primary project of the outgoing Past President. Addresses are given at the Annual ESA Meeting one year after the president leaves office and two years after a president takes office. They are published in the ESA Bulletin the following…

Read More


The Council Member-at-Large positions started in 1948 and were transferred to the Governing Board on its creation in 1995. Three members-at-large are elected for two-year terms. All officers assume their positions at the conclusion of the annual meeting. Past and current Members-at-Large are displayed in the table below, which may be sorted by name, office, or year by clicking on…

Read More

Secretaries and Treasurers

Originally, ESA members elected a President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer, so this was a combined role. A separate office of Treasurer was created in 1939, but was gradually supplanted by the Business Manager office, created in 1952/54. Transitions in office occur at the annual meeting each year. “For the first 22 years of its existence, ESA had a combination secretary-treasurer. Recognizing…

Read More

Business Manager

The Business Manager office began as a position supporting production of the Society’s journals in 1920. It was discontinued in 1995, with the reorganization that created a Governing Board and professional paid staff to replace the ESA Council that was organized in 1946. According to Robert Burgess, who wrote a history of the Society circa 1976: “Both major journals have…

Read More

Governing Board

Effective spring 1995, ESA shifted to a Governing Board that makes most decisions, currently consisting of nine elected officers. The Vice-Presidents and Secretary serve 3-year terms. The President serves a total of three years on the Governing Board, including one as President-elect and one as Past President. Responsibilities are summarized below each office; see Society Bylaws for additional details. In…

Read More


Prior to 1995, ESA members elected one Vice-President. Four individual Vice-Presidents currently manage responsibilities in Science, Public Affairs, Finance, and Education and Human Resources, respectively. Vice Presidents of the ESA serve 3-year terms as part of the Governing Board. All Vice-Presidents are displayed in the table below, which may be sorted by category or year by clicking on the appropriate…

Read More