Skip to main content


Official logo of the 2017 Annual Meeting has a frog and bee as graphics.

ESA’s 2017 Awards

ESA’s annual awards, to be presented in Portland at the August annual meeting, include high honors to four distinguished women in ecology. Awards are announced in the July issue of the ESA Bulletin.Eminent Ecologist Award: Diana Harrison WallThe Eminent Ecologist Award honors a senior ecologist for an outstanding body of ecological work or sustained ecological contributions of extraordinary merit. Soil…

Read More
Portrait image of Robert Harding Whittaker. Black and white photo. He is wearing a collared shirt.

R. H. Whittaker Distinguished Ecologist Award

The Whittaker Distinguished Ecologist award recognizes an ecologist with an earned doctorate and an outstanding record of contributions in ecology who is not a U.S. citizen and who resides outside the United States.

Read More

Diversity Award

The Commitment to Human Diversity in Ecology Award (formerly the Diversity Award) provides recognition of long-standing contributions of an individual towards increasing the diversity of future ecologists through mentoring, teaching, or outreach.

Read More

Corporate Awards

The Corporate Award was established in 1988 to recognize a corporation, business, or individual that has demonstrated accomplishments in incorporating sound ecological concepts, knowledge, and/or practices into its planning and operating procedures. In 2008 the award became an occasional award rather than an annual award. Special Awards From time to time the Society has awarded a Special Recognition Corporate Award…

Read More

Sustainability Science Awards

Initiated in 2004, the Sustainability Science Award of the Ecological Society of America recognizes the authors of the peer reviewed paper published in the past five years that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences. One of the most pressing challenges facing humanity is the sustainability…

Read More


ESA designates as Fellows of the Society certain members who have made outstanding contributions to the wide range of fields served by ESA. Such contributions include those that advance or apply ecological knowledge in academics, government, non-profit organizations, and the private sector. ESA especially encourages nominations of candidates from traditionally underrepresented groups, including women and minorities. For eligibility criteria and…

Read More

Early Career Fellows

ESA designates as Early Career Fellows of the Society certain early career members (typically chosen within 8 years of receiving the Ph.D.) who have begun making and show promise of continuing to make outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA. Such contributions include those that advance or apply ecological knowledge in academics, government, non-profit organizations, and…

Read More

William S. Cooper Award

The William Skinner Cooper Award, initiated in 1985, is given to honor an outstanding contributor to the fields of geobotany, physiographic ecology, plant succession, or the distribution of plants along environmental gradients, these being the fields in which W. S. Cooper worked. The award is for a single contribution in a scientific publication (single or multiple authored). Nominees need not…

Read More