Secretaries and Treasurers

Originally, ESA members elected a President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer, so this was a combined role. A separate office of Treasurer was created in 1939, but was gradually supplanted by the Business Manager office, created in 1952/54. Transitions in office occur at the annual meeting each year.

“For the first 22 years of its existence, ESA had a combination secretary-treasurer. Recognizing that a degree of continuity was essential to the administration of a young society, these officers were elected for more than one year. Forrest Shreve (1916-1919) and A. O. Weese (1920-1930) carried the Society through its formative (and crucial) years. Shelford (1938) states, “The society was guided and its policies given continuity for the first 16 years of its existence through the unbroken services of these two men whose enthusiasm kept life and progress in the organization while maintaining an unusual harmony because of their kindly and cordial personalities.”
In 1938, the offices were divided, with Orlando Park choosing to remain as secretary and Stanley Cain elected treasurer. This arrangement has persisted to the present, with three- to five-year terms, usually staggered, being the general rule.”
The Ecological Society of America: Historical Data and Some Preliminary Analyses, by Bob Burgess, ca. 1976

StartEndOfficeFull NameLast NameBulletin Link
19161919Sec-TresForrest ShreveShreve
19201930Sec-TresAsa Orrin WeeseWeese
19311931Sec-TresAlfred Edwards EmersonEmerson
19321933Sec-TresAaron Raymond KienholzKienholz
19341935Sec-TresArthur Gibson VestalVestal
19361938Sec-TresOrlando ParkPark
19391941SecretaryWilliam John Hamilton Jr.Hamilton
19391940TreasurerStanley Adair CainCain
19411942TreasurerRoyal Eastman ShanksShanks
19411942TreasurerRoyal Eastman ShanksShanks
19421947SecretaryWilliam Albert DreyerDreyer
19431943TreasurerStanley Adair CainCain
19441949TreasurerHenry John OostingOosting
19481950SecretaryWilliam Augustus CastleCastle
19501950TreasurerWilliam Theodore PenfoundPenfound
19511953SecretaryMurray Fife BuellBuell
19511954TreasurerFrederick Harold TestTest
19541957SecretaryJohn Frederick ReedReed
19551957TreasurerAlexander Carlton HodsonHodson
19571959TreasurerJohn Stiles DendyDendy
19581961SecretaryJohn Edward CantlonCantlon
19591963TreasurerKirby Lee HaysHays
19621964SecretaryPaul Guy PearsonPearson
19641966TreasurerRalph Walter KeltingKelting
19651970SecretaryStanley Irving AuerbachAuerbach
19671969TreasurerWilliam Clark AshbyAshby
19691972TreasurerShelby Delos GerkingGerking
19701970SecretaryWilliam Albert NieringNiering
19711975SecretaryJ. Frank McCormickMcCormick
19721975TreasurerForest Walden StearnsStearns
19751978SecretaryEdward John KormondyKormondy
19751977TreasurerPaul Guy PearsonPearson
19771981TreasurerLawrence Carroll BlissBliss
19781981SecretaryPaul Gillan RisserRisser
19811985SecretaryRobert Patrick McIntoshMcIntosh
19811984TreasurerWilliam A. ReinersReiners
19841987TreasurerPaul Alfred ColinvauxColinvaux
19861991SecretaryHazel Roach DelcourtDelcourt
19871990TreasurerRebecca Reyburn SharitzSharitz
19901995TreasurerLouis Frank PitelkaPitelka
19921995SecretaryRobert Krug PeetPeet
19951998SecretaryNancy J. HuntlyHuntly
19982001SecretaryLisa J. GraumlichGraumlich
20012004SecretaryJill Spann BaronBaron
20042010SecretaryDavid William InouyeInouye
20102016SecretaryCharles D. CanhamCanham
20162022SecretaryJessica GurevitchGurevitch
20222025SecretaryEmilio BrunaBrunaAnnouncement