

October 11, 2018

Dear Chairman Murkowski and Ranking Member Cantwell,

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) thanks you for your strong support and leadership in advancing the Department of Energy Research and Innovation Act (H.R. 589), which was recently signed into law by President Trump. We also want to thank the Committee staff – Brianne Miller, Ben Reinke and Scott McKee – for their professionalism and interest in the research priorities of the science community. This legislation is the first comprehensive policy authorization in 11 years for the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, including its six primary research programs, affirming the importance of its contributions to the United States' energy security, economic competitiveness, and national security.

The DOE Office of Science is the nation's preeminent federal sponsor of early stage physical sciences research, with impacts in disparate fields including energy, medicine and defense. This legislation recognizes the importance of the DOE Office of Science in sponsoring research programs vital to American prosperity and security, maintaining the U.S. pipeline of science and engineering talent, building world-class scientific tools and facilities, and supporting the network of DOE National Laboratories.

Specifically, H.R. 589 identifies and advances crucial research activities and science infrastructure across all of the DOE Office of Science programs. Its focus on improving technology transfer at the national labs and continuing support of the Energy Frontier Research Centers and the Energy Innovation Hubs – which both help bring universities, national laboratories, nonprofits and industry together – will accelerate research toward meeting our critical energy challenges. Additionally, the bill's inclusion of crosscutting, multidisciplinary research initiatives, such as solar fuels and energy storage, will help accelerate the pace of innovation for potentially transformative energy technologies.

Thank you again for your leadership and support for the DOE Office of Science. ESC members look forward to continuing to work with you and your colleagues to advance the mission of DOE and help the U.S. maintain its position as a global leader in science, technology and innovation.

Contacts: Christopher Carter Leland Cogliani

Co-chair Co-chair Co-chair 202-289-7475

ccc317@lehigh.edu Leland@lewis-burke.com

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad-based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

ESC Membership

Acoustical Society of America

American Association for the Advancement

of Science

American Association of Physicists in

Medicine

American Association of Physics Teachers

American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society

American Crystallographic Association, Inc.

American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society

American Society for Engineering

Education

American Society of Agronomy

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists

American Vacuum Society Arizona State University

Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant

Universities

Battelle

Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University

Case Western Reserve University

City College of CUNY Clemson University

Coalition for Academic Scientific

Computation

Consortium for Ocean Leadership

Columbia University

Computing Research Association Council of Scientific Society Presidents

Cornell University

Cray Inc.

Crop Science Society of America

Duke University

The Ecological Society of America

Florida State University Fusion Power Associates

General Atomics

Geological Society of America George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology

Harvard University

IBM IEEE-USA Iowa State University

Jefferson Science Associates, LLC

Krell Institute Lehigh University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Materials Research Society Michigan State University

Michigan Technological University

New York University Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University

Oak Ridge Associated Universities

OSA—The Optical Society

Pace University Penn State University Princeton University Purdue University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Society for Industrial and Applied

Mathematics

Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research

Association Stanford University Stony Brook University

Tech-X

The Ohio State University University of California System

University of Chicago

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware University of Florida University of Iowa

University of Maryland, College Park

University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester

University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin

University of Virginia

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Vanderbilt University Washington State University

Washington University in St. Louis

West Virginia University

Yale University