

October 11, 2018

Dear Chairman Smith and Ranking Member Johnson,

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) thanks you for your strong support and leadership in advancing the Department of Energy Research and Innovation Act (H.R. 589), which was recently signed into law by President Trump. We also want to thank the Committee staff – Emily Domenech, Hillary O'Brien, and Adam Rosenberg – for their professionalism and interest in the research priorities of the science community. This legislation is the first comprehensive policy authorization for the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, including its six primary research programs, affirming the importance of its contributions to the United States' energy security, economic competitiveness, and national security.

The DOE Office of Science is the nation's preeminent federal sponsor of early stage physical sciences research, with impacts in disparate fields including energy, medicine and defense. This legislation recognizes the importance of the DOE Office of Science in sponsoring research programs vital to American prosperity and security, maintaining the U.S. pipeline of science and engineering talent, building world-class scientific tools and facilities, and supporting the network of DOE National Laboratories.

Specifically, H.R. 589 identifies and advances crucial research activities and science infrastructure across all of the DOE Office of Science programs. Its focus on improving technology transfer at the national labs and continuing support of the Energy Frontier Research Centers and the Energy Innovation Hubs – which both help bring universities, national laboratories, nonprofits and industry together – will accelerate research toward meeting our critical energy challenges. Additionally, the bill's inclusion of crosscutting, multidisciplinary research initiatives, such as solar fuels and energy storage, will help accelerate the pace of innovation for potentially transformative energy technologies.

Thank you again for your leadership and support for the DOE Office of Science. ESC members look forward to continuing to work with you and your colleagues to advance the mission of DOE and help the U.S. maintain its position as a global leader in science, technology and innovation.

Contacts:	Christopher Carter	Leland Cogliani
	Co-chair	Co-chair
	610-216-5656	202-289-7475
	ccc317@lehigh.edu	Leland@lewis-burke.com

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad-based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

ESC Membership

Acoustical Society of America American Association for the Advancement of Science American Association of Physicists in Medicine American Association of Physics Teachers American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society American Crystallographic Association, Inc. American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society American Society for Engineering Education American Society of Agronomy American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists American Vacuum Society Arizona State University Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities **Battelle Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University** Case Western Reserve University City College of CUNY **Clemson University** Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation Consortium for Ocean Leadership Columbia University **Computing Research Association Council of Scientific Society Presidents Cornell University** Cray Inc. Crop Science Society of America **Duke University** The Ecological Society of America Florida State University **Fusion Power Associates General Atomics** Geological Society of America George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University IBM **IEEE-USA**

Iowa State University Jefferson Science Associates, LLC Krell Institute Lehigh University Massachusetts Institute of Technology Materials Research Society Michigan State University Michigan Technological University New York University Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oak Ridge Associated Universities OSA—The Optical Society Pace University Penn State University Princeton University Purdue University **Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute** Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Society for Industrial and Applied **Mathematics** Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research Association Stanford University Stony Brook University Tech-X The Ohio State University University of California System University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Florida University of Iowa University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin University of Virginia University of Wisconsin-Madison Vanderbilt University Washington State University Washington University in St. Louis West Virginia University Yale University