

September 21, 2018

Dear Chairman Alexander and Ranking Member Feinstein,

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) thanks you for your strong support and leadership in advancing the research and infrastructure priorities of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science in the final fiscal year (FY) 2019 Energy and Water bill (H.R. 5895). We also want to thank the Energy and Water Appropriations Subcommittee staff – Meyer Seligman and Doug Clapp – for their professionalism, accessibility and interest in the research priorities of the science community. The five percent increase from the FY 2018 enacted level, combined with the historic 16 percent increase in the final FY 2018 omnibus bill, demonstrates a clear commitment to enhancing our energy security and national security. This funding increase also sends a signal to the rest of the world that the U.S. is committed to remaining a global leader in science and technology and is poised to attract and retain the best minds – from across the country and the rest of the world – to address scientific and technological grand challenges.

More specifically, the \$6.59 billion will advance vital early stage research at both U.S. universities and the network of 17 DOE National Laboratories focused on high-risk, high-reward research areas. Machine learning, quantum information science, materials by design, and nuclear science are just a few examples of Office of Science-sponsored research that can lead to paradigm-shifting innovations in energy technologies that spawn the creation of new industries. This funding will also increase operations of 26 Office of Science-supported, world-class, scientific user facilities that provide access to more than 32,000 researchers from academia, industry and federal agencies. The additional funding for the construction and upgrades of major science facilities will go a long way toward staying ahead of international investments in science infrastructure. Equally important, undergraduate and graduate students who are the next generation of American STEM talent will be encouraged to pursue their careers in the physical sciences and help grow the nation's scientific knowledge base at a time of increasing international competition.

Thank you again for your leadership and support for the Office of Science. ESC looks forward to working with you and your colleagues in FY 2020 to maintain robust funding for the Office of Science and continue steady progress in groundbreaking research and construction of world-leading science facilities.

Contacts:

Christopher Carter Co-chair 610-216-5656 ccc317@lehigh.edu Leland Cogliani Co-chair 202-289-7475 Leland@lewis-burke.com

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad-based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

## ESC Membership

American Association for the Advancement of Science American Association of Physicists in Medicine American Association of Physics Teachers American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society American Crystallographic Association, Inc. American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society American Society for Engineering Education American Society of Agronomy Acoustical Society of America (ASA) American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists American Vacuum Society Arizona State University Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities Battelle **Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University** Case Western Reserve University City College of CUNY **Clemson University** Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC) Consortium for Ocean Leadership Columbia University **Computing Research Association Council of Scientific Society Presidents Cornell University** Crav Inc. Crop Science Society of America **Duke University** The Ecological Society of America Florida State University **Fusion Power Associates** General Atomics Geological Society of America George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology Harvard University IBM **IEEE-USA** 

Iowa State University Jefferson Science Associates, LLC Krell Institute Lehigh University Massachusetts Institute of Technology Materials Research Society Michigan State University Michigan Technological University New York University Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) OSA—The Optical Society Pace University Penn State University Princeton University Purdue University **Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute** Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research Association Stanford University Tech-X The Ohio State University University of California System University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Iowa University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin University of Virginia University of Wisconsin-Madison Vanderbilt University Washington State University Washington University in St. Louis West Virginia University Yale University