Dennis Ojima, longtime CSU professor, named president-elect of the Ecological Society of America

By Colorado State University

Dennis Ojima is the latest member of the Colorado State University faculty to be selected by members of the Ecological Society of America to serve as president-elect. His term begins in 2020.

Dennis Ojima poses on Cathy Fromme Prairie in Fort Collins, Colo., October 24, 2019.

“For more than 30 thirty years, Dennis Ojima has been at the forefront of the field of ecology and has had an immeasurable impact on the discipline,” said John Hayes, dean of the Warner College of Natural Resources at CSU. “His work bridging the critical gap between social and ecological systems while identifying the challenges and opportunities for societies to recognize and adapt to a changing climate has been critically important in our envisioning a more sustainable path for life on Earth into the future.”Ojima is a senior research scientist in the Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory and a professor emeritus in the Department of Ecosystem Science and Sustainability.

Hayes praised Ojima’s ongoing work with national and international organizations.

“Beyond his own work, his engagement in a plethora of professional and scientific societies, institutes and organizations, like Ecological Society of America, has been deeply impactful,” he said. “We’re lucky to have Dennis as an integral member of the Warner College community, and his appointment as ESA president is a proud moment for all of us at CSU.”

ESA President Osvaldo Sala, who received his doctoral degree in the Department of Forest and Rangeland Stewardship at CSU, said with the newest members elected to the ESA governing board, the society will continue the tradition of strong leadership and dedication to the science of ecology.

“I look forward to the new perspectives and experiences they will bring when their terms begin in August 2020, and I offer congratulations to each person joining the board,” he said in a statement.

Learn more about the Governing Board of the Ecological Society of America here: