ESA announces 2013 Fellows

ESA LogoMedia Advisory

For immediate release: 11 June 2013

Contact: Nadine Lymn, gro.asenull@enidaN, 202.833.8773, ext. 205


The Ecological Society of America (ESA) is pleased to announce its 2013 fellows. The Society’s fellows program recognizes the many ways in which our members contribute to ecological research and discovery, communication, education and pedagogy, and to management and policy.

ESA fellows and early career fellows are listed on the ESA Fellows page.

Fellows are members who have made outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA, including, but not restricted to those that advance or apply ecological knowledge in academics, government, non-profit organizations and the broader society. They are elected for life.

Early career fellows are members typically within eight years of receiving their Ph.D. (or other terminal degree) who have begun making and show promise of continuing to make outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA. They are elected for five years.

ESA established its fellows program in 2012. 

Awards Committee Chair Alan Hastings says that the program’s goals are to honor its members and to support their competitiveness and advancement to leadership positions in the Society, at their institutions and in broader society.   

Kudos to all this year’s ESA Fellows!

2013 Fellows:

  • Carlo D’Antonio, University of California
  • Bill Fagan, University of Maryland
  • Lisa Graumlich, University of Washington
  • Jessica Gurevitch, Stony Brook University
  • Susan P. Harrison, University of California, Davis
  • Robert D. Holt, University of Florida
  • Nancy Johnson, Northern Arizona University
  • Pablo Marquet, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Kevin McCann, University of Guelph
  • Bruce Menge, Oregon State University
  • Camille Parmesan, University of Texas, Austin
  • Eric R. Pianka, University of Texas, Austin
  • Hugh Possingham, The University of Queensland
  • Julie Reynolds, Duke University
  • Osvaldo E. Sala, Arizona State University
  • Joshua Schimel, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Joy Zedler, University of Wisconsin, Madison


2013 Early Career Fellows:

  • Steven D. Allison, University of California, Irvine
  • Marissa L. Baskett, University of California, Davis
  • Meghan Duffy, University of Michigan
  • Pieter Johnson, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Duncan Menge, Columbia University
  • Julian D. Olden, University of Washington


The Ecological Society of America is the world’s largest community of professional ecologists and the trusted source of ecological knowledge.  ESA is committed to advancing the understanding of life on Earth.  The 10,000 member Society publishes five journals, convenes an annual scientific conference, and broadly shares ecological information through policy and media outreach and education initiatives. Visit the ESA website at