ESA Biogeosciences Awards: Call for Nominations

Applications for all awards must be sent to esabiogeoscience@gmail.com by June 7, 2019

Details for the section's three awards are below:

- 1. Best paper awards (early-career scientist and graduate student)
- 2. Best oral presentation by a graduate student
- 3. Student travel grants

We are also soliciting judges for the Outstanding Paper and Student Presentation awards. Please contact Devin McMahon (section secretary) at esabiogeoscience@gmail.com to help recognize and support early-career scientists by serving as an awards judge in 2019.

1. Junior Scientist Outstanding Publication Awards

The ESA Biogeosciences Junior Scientist Outstanding Publication awards were initiated in 2007 to promote young scientists and highlight outstanding work in the field. The **Elizabeth Sulzman Award** recognizes research conducted while a graduate student, and published within two years of graduation. The **Gene E. Likens Award** recognizes work conducted by an early-career scientist (within five years of receiving a Ph.D.) for work conducted after the completion of graduate school.

Each year, the awards are presented to the first author of a notable paper in the biogeosciences that was published between January of the previous year and May of the current year. To be considered for an award, the paper must have been assigned a DOI.

The winner of each award will receive a \$250 cash prize and formal recognition by ESA. We may also award an honorable mention prize within each category.

Instructions:

Nominees should be members of ESA, and are encouraged to be members of the Biogeosciences section. Nominations for each award should include the following, emailed to esabiogeoscience@gmail.com by Friday, June 7th with the subject line "Sulzman Award nomination_[nominee's last name]" or "Likens Award nomination_[nominee's last name]" as appropriate:

1) The paper's citation and a PDF

2) The first author's current contact information (name, email address, mailing address optional)

3) A statement of eligibility (e.g. current grad student, or postdoc < 5 years from Ph.D.)

4) A short letter in support of the nomination from a colleague or advisor (sent separately from above materials unless the recommender is also the nominator)

We note that while self-nominations are entirely appropriate, the potential awardee need not be involved in the nomination process. We encourage all section members to nominate outstanding papers that they have encountered.

A panel of scientists representing a broad array of disciplines within the biogeosciences will then evaluate the submissions and decide on the winning entries. Award winners will be notified in advance of the upcoming ESA Annual meeting, and the awards will be presented at the section mixer at the meeting. Winners of each prize will be encouraged to attend the meeting!

2. Best Student Presentation Award

The Biogeosciences Section will also present an award for the best oral presentation by a graduate student. To be eligible, the work must have been conducted while a graduate student. The winner will receive a \$500 cash prize and formal recognition by ESA. This award is generously sponsored by New Phytologist.

Instructions: To apply for this award, email your name, presentation title, and presentation time (if available) to esabiogeoscience@gmail.com, with the subject "Best Student Presentation nomination_[your last name]" by **June 7th**.

3. Student Travel Awards

The Biogeosciences Section is sponsoring travel grants (approximately five awards of \$250 to \$500 each) to help support student travel to the 2019 ESA meeting. Both undergraduate and graduate students are encouraged to apply. Travel grant recipients are expected to help staff the section table in the poster hall for ~ 3 hours during the meeting (can be spread over two days).

Requirements:

1) The applicant must be a current student (graduate or undergraduate) or have graduated since the last ESA meeting (August 5th, 2018).

2) The student or the faculty mentor must be a current member of the Biogeosciences Section.

3) The student must be giving an oral presentation or presenting a poster at the meeting (i.e., must have an accepted abstract).

Instructions:

<u>Step 1</u>: Email a PDF of the following information to <u>esabiogeoscience@gmail.com</u> with the subject line "Travel Application_[your last name]." Name the file "BGS_travel_[your last name].pdf".

- Contact information: name, email address, mailing address, phone number
- Statement of your anticipated travel expenses and your current sources of funding for the meeting
- Name and email address of your faculty mentor or sponsor
- List of academic institutions attended, with location, dates of enrolment, and degrees received or in progress for each
- Text and title of your accepted ESA 2019 presentation abstract
- One-page essay (12-pt font, double-spaced) describing your interests in the biogeosciences and your career goals

<u>Step 2</u>: Ask your faculty mentor to email a letter of recommendation on your behalf, with the subject line "Travel Application LOR for [your name]".

Applications are due June 7th, 2019.

Past Winners:

Likens Award:

- 2018 Debjani Sihi
- 2017 Steve Powers
- 2016 Peter M. Homyak
- 2014 Will Wieder (honorable mention: Jinyun Tan)
- 2013 Park Williams
- 2012 Gordon Holtgrieve
- 2011 Ed Hall
- 2009 Stephen Porder (honorable mention: William Cornwell)
- 2008 Jennifer Funk (honorable mention: Kristina Anderson-Teixeira
- 2007 Ben Houlton, Katey Walter

Sulzman Award:

- 2018 Justin Mathias
- 2017 Erin Hanan
- 2016 Yaling Liu
- 2015 Colin Averill
- 2014 Sarah Batterman (honorable mention: Janice Brahney)
- 2013 Lei Cheng
- 2012 Scott Morford (honorable mention: Arianne Cease)
- 2011 John Drake
- 2010 Philip Taylor
- 2009 Michael Strickland (honorable mention: Jia Hu)
- 2008 Duncan Menge (honorable mention: Ben Colman)
- 2007 Scott Ensign

New Phytologist Student Presentation Award:

- 2018 Jamie Harrison
- 2017 Brooke Osborne
- 2016 Matthew Craig
- 2015 Cari Ficken Hopping
- 2014 Kelly Hopping
- 2013 Jessica Corman
- 2012 Bonnie Waring
- 2011 Sarah Evans
- 2010 Edward Brzostek
- 2009 Amy Burgin (honorable mention: Carmody McCalley)
- ESA Student Travel Grant Winners:

2018	Anecia Gentles Lilli Kaarakka Covel McDermot Cody Reed Sasha Vivelo
2017	Daniel Casarella Jennifer Cristiano Rebecca Evans Russel Hedberg Rachel King Brittney Monus
2016	Elizabeth August-Schmidt Joseph Carrara Amber Churchill Denise Devotta Benton Taylor Lorna Harris