Skip to main content

In observance of Juneteenth the ESA offices are closed. | Learn About Diversity in Ecology

Public Affairs Committee

The Public Affairs Committee works to advance the Society’s mission and goals by guiding and helping to implement the public affairs program of the Society. The Public Affairs Committee is responsible for these duties:

  • Advising staff on policy and communications
  • Providing input to ESA’s policy priority guidelines
  • Facilitating selection of the Annual Meeting Opening Plenary speaker, Regional Policy Award winner, and the Rapid Response Team luncheon speaker


Chaired by the Vice President for Public Affairs.

Committee Members

  • Laura Petes (Vice President for Public Affairs, 2020 – 2023)
    National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Astrid Caldas (2020 – 2023)
  • Ann Bartuska (2019 – 2022)
  • Tim Male (2020 – 2023)
  • James Rattling Leaf (2020 – 2023)
  • Ayo Deas,  Student Representative (2020 – 2021)


  • Kathleen Weathers (2020 – 2021)