Skip to main content

Education Committee

The Education Committee guides and helps to implement ESA’s efforts to promote excellence in ecology education at all levels, support the recruitment and retention of a diverse community of ecologists in a variety of career paths, and facilitate collaborations across the ESA community to amplify education and engagement initiatives. This committee will split from the current Committee on Diversity and Education as a separate entity in August 2021. Terms of office will begin on that date.

The Committee’s key functions are to:

  • Advise on ESA’s strategic education and workforce development priorities and related
    budget needs.
  • Engage the ESA membership and the wider community in development and
    implementation of ecology education including the Four-Dimensional Ecology Education
    (4DEE) framework and engagement in education activities.
  • Encourage collaborations across ESA sections, chapters, and committees to elevate the
    visibility and use of ESA’s education initiatives and resources.


The committee will consist of a chair and six additional members.

Subcommittee: 4D Ecology Education was established 2019. The purpose of the 4DEE Subcommittee is to facilitate the knowledge, understanding, and use of 4DEE concepts by ESA members and others. (9 members)

Committee Members

  • Carmen Cid, Chair (2021 – 2022)
  • Luanna Prevost (2021 – 2023)
  • Tracy Gartner (2021 – 2022)
  • Ajay Sharma (2021 – 2024)
  • Brian Robert Shmaefsky (2021 – 2024)
  • Alycia Crall (2021 – 2024)
  • Tom Langen (2021 – 2024)