Skip to main content

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee and its subcommittees work to advance the Society’s mission and goals by recognizing achievements in and contributions to the field of ecology. The Awards Committee is responsible for selecting candidates for honorary awards of the Society and for recommending candidates for other awards for which ecologists may be eligible.


The chairs of all award subcommittees are members of the Awards Committee. Subcommittee Chairs are appointed to overlapping three-year terms, except for the MacArthur Award Chair, who shall serve for six years. In addition to the Chair, each Subcommittee shall generally consist of six members with overlapping, two-year terms.

Committee Members

  • Charles Nilon, Chair (2020 – 2023) Email
    University of Missouri

Student Awards (Buell/Braun) Subcommittee

  • Phoebe Zarnetske, Chair Email
    Michigan State University
  • Jennifer Bhatnagar
  • Carolyn Kurle
  • Daniel Laughlin
  • Sean Menke

Commitment to Human Diversity in Ecology Award Subcommittee

  • Carmen Cid, Chair Email 
  • Jacoby Carter   
  • Rob Dyball
  • Greg Hitzhusen   
  • Mary McKenna
  • Concepcion Rodriguez Fourquet
  • Jeramie Strickland

W.S. Cooper Award Subcommittee

  • Carissa Brown, Chair Email
    Memorial University of Newfoundland Department of Geography
  • Songlin Fei
  • Ines Ibanez
  • Andrew Trant

Eminent Ecologist Award Subcommittee

  • Elizabeth Borer, Chair Email
    College of Biological Sciences University of Minnesota
  • Just Cebrian
  • Kirsten Hofmockel
  • Brian McGill
  • Mercedes Pascual
  • Kabir Peay
  • Sharon Strauss

Distinguished Service Citation Subcommittee

  • Alison Power, Chair Email
    Cornell University
  • Carla Caceres
  • Ray Dueser
  • Rich Pouyat
  • Melinda Smith

Fellows and Early Career Fellows Selection Subcommittee

  • Sarah Hobbie, Chair (2016-2017, 2020-2021) Email
    University of Minnesota
  • Nick Haddad
  • Nate Sanders
  • Tadashi Fukami
  • Drew Harvell
  • Felicia Keesing

Forrest Shreve Award, International Ecology Award and Robert H. Whittaker Distinguished Ecologist Award Subcommittee

  • Daniel Winkler, Chair (2020-2023) Email
    U.S. Geological Survey
  • Anita Antoninka
  • Nameer Baker
  • Nichole Barger
  • Bala Chaudhary
  • Nikki Grant-Hoffman

Robert H. MacArthur Award Subcommittee

  • Antony Ives, Chair (2016 – 2020) Email
    University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Anurag Agrawal
  • Jim Elser
  • Lenore Fahrig
  • Saran Twombly

Mercer Award Subcommittee

  • Jeremy Fox, Chair Email
    University of Calgary
  • Brian Enquist
  • Vanessa Ezenwa
  • Malin Pinsky
  • Jennifer Morse
  • Carla Staver

Odum Education Award Subcommittee

  • Vikki Rodgers, Chair (2019 – 2021) Email
    Babson College
  • Chris Beck
  • Richard Boyce
  • Sara Scanga
  • Ben Wu
  • Loren Byrne
  • Danielle Garneau

Sustainability Science Award Subcommittee

  • Matt Liebman, Chair (2019 – 2021) Email
    Iowa State University
  • Elena Bennett
  • Laura Dee
  • Lauren Hallett
  • Bruce Maxwell
  • Lauren Ponisio
  • Matthew Potts