Skip to main content

2019 Candidates for Election

The 2019 ESA election is now open! ESA members are electing leaders for offices on the Governing Board and Board of Professional Certification who will take office in 2020. 

To vote, check your email for a message from “ESA Election Coordinator” at ten.etovtceridnull@ylperon. If we do not have an email address on file, you will receive snail mail in the coming days. Voting will be open through November 4.

The Nominations Committee has put forward this slate of individuals who have accepted their candidacy.


  • Robert Jackson, Stanford University
  • Dennis Ojima, Colorado State University

Vice President for Finance

  • Deborah Goldberg, University of Michigan
  • Jeannine Cavendar-Bares, University of Minnesota

Vice President for Public Affairs

  • Karen Lips, University of Maryland
  • Laura Petes, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Member At-large

Two seats are up for election

  • Zoe Cardon, Marine Biological Laboratory
  • Sasha Reed, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Daniel Stover, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Naupaka Zimmerman, University of San Francisco

Board of Professional Certification

Two seats are up for election

  • Kevin Erwin
  • Zakiya Leggett
  • Tim Nuttle
  • Marcia Wolfe

Congratulations to the candidates, and thanks to all who entered the nominations process!