Skip to main content

The 2019 Annual Meeting in Louisville, KY begins Sunday, August 11.   Register Now

Sustainability Science Award

The Sustainability Science Award is given to the authors of a scholarly work that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences. One of the most pressing challenges facing humanity is the sustainability of important ecological, social, and cultural processes in the face of changes in the forces that shape ecosystems and regions. This ESA award is for a single scholarly contribution (book, book chapter, or peer-reviewed journal article) published in the last five years. Recent recipients are Pamela Matson, Fikret Berkes, Margaret Palmer and J.B. Ruhl, and Jianguo Liu and colleagues.