Skip to main content

Buell & Braun Awards

Murray F. Buell Award and E. Lucy Braun Award

Murray F. Buell had a long and distinguished record of service and accomplishment in the Ecological Society of America. Among other things, he ascribed great importance to the participation of students in meetings and to excellence in the presentation of papers. To honor his selfless dedication to the younger generation of ecologists, the Murray F. Buell Award for Excellence in Ecology is given to a student for the outstanding oral paper presented at the ESA Annual Meeting. Lucy Braun, an eminent plant ecologist and one of the charter members of the Society, studied and mapped the deciduous forest regions of eastern North America and described them in her classic book, The Deciduous Forests of Eastern North America. To honor her, the E. Lucy Braun Award for Excellence in Ecology is given to a student for the outstanding poster presentation at the ESA Annual Meeting.

A candidate for these awards must be an undergraduate, a graduate student, or a recent doctorate not more than 9 months past graduation at the time of the meeting. The paper or poster must be presented as part of the program sponsored by the Ecological Society of America, but the student need not be an ESA member. To be eligible for these awards the student must be the sole or senior author of a contributed talk or poster. Papers and posters will be judged on the significance of ideas, creativity, quality of methodology, validity of conclusions drawn from results, and clarity of presentation. While all students presenting a contributed talk or poster are encouraged to participate, winning papers and posters typically describe fully completed projects. A certificate and a check for $500 will be presented to each recipient at the following ESA Annual Meeting. The student will also receive up to $700 for travel expenses to the Annual Meeting.

Applications for the 2020 Buell and Braun Awards are due by Thursday, February 27, 2020 at 5:00 PM EST.
To apply for a 2020 Buell or Braun Award please select the following link:
If you are a member, please login to access the submission form.  If you are not a member you need to create a web profile.