2011 ESA-Aquatic Ecology Section Awards

Check out these 3 awards from the Aquatic Ecology Section that are open to students. Applications/nominations for 2011 awards due June 1, 2011.

1) Thomas M. Frost Award for Excellence in Graduate Research

The Aquatic Section of the Ecological Society of America is pleased to sponsor the Thomas M. Frost Award for Excellence in Graduate Research. Thomas M. Frost was the director of the University of Wisconsin Trout Lake Station from 1981 until his death in 2000. His colleagues will remember him as a dedicated and creative scientist who brought a gentle, caring humanity to our endeavors. This prize, founded in 2001, honors Tom's commitments to aquatic ecology and to graduate student education. The recipient will receive a plaque and a cash prize.

Eligibility and nomination: This annual award will be given to a scientist in recognition of an outstanding paper resulting from research done as a graduate student. At the time of the nomination deadline, the paper must
be published and the nominee must be a graduate student or have received the Ph.D. within two years. The nominee must be first author of the paper if there is more than one author. Nominated papers must be published in a peer-reviewed journal and be in the area of aquatic ecology. The nominee also must be a member in good standing of ESA‚s Aquatic Section at the time of nomination. Self-nominations and nominations by colleagues are welcomed.

Applications will be reviewed by the Awards Committee appointed by the Officers of the Aquatic Section. Candidates will be judged based upon the paper's contribution to the field, including its originality, study design, and impact.

Nomination packets should include:
1. A copy of the paper
2. A brief letter describing the impact of the paper on the field and stating the date of completion of the degree if the nominee is no longer a student
3. A letter of support from the major professor that also confirms the nominee's eligibility for the award
4. A CV from the nominee

Applications should be submitted electronically as pdfs. Send files to the Aquatic Section's Secretary (jrvonesh (at)vcu.edu), with the subject line "Frost Award_ApplicantLastName". If electronic submission is not possible,
then 4 copies of the nomination package should be sent to:

James Vonesh
Dept. of Biology
Virginia Commonwealth University
1000 West Cary Street
P.O. Box 842012
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2012

2) Best Student Talk in Aquatic Ecology

The Aquatic Ecology Section also makes an award for the best talk in aquatic ecology presented at the annual ESA meeting by a student in the Aquatic Section. The competition is coordinated with the Buell Award (awarded by the Society), so applicants must be eligible for (and signed up for) the Buell Award. The student must apply for Section's award by sending an email with the subject line"Best Student Talk" to the Section Secretary, James Vonesh, (jrvonesh(at)vcu.edu) no later than June 1, 2011 stating that 1) they are a member of the section, and 2) that they have applied for and are eligible for the Buell Award. They also should include or attach a copy of their abstract.

The officers of the Aquatic Section will serve as the awards committee. They will use the Buell evaluations as the basis for their decision. The recipient will receive a $200 award from the Section.

3) Student Travel Awards

The Aquatic Ecology Section gives a limited number of travel awards to students to offset expenses associated with attending the ESA Annual meeting. Student must be presenting a talk or poster. Travel awards are $150 and will be awarded on a lottery basis. Applications (abstract + letter of intent) should be submitted by email with the subject line "Travel Award_ApplicantLastName" to the Section Secretary, James Vonesh, jrvonesh(at)vcu.edu no later than June 1, 2011. Requests should be sent in a separate email from other correspondences.