Ecological Society of America announces 2020 Fellows

Posted by Alison Mize on April 9, 2020

April 9, 2020

For Immediate Release

Contact: Alison Mize, gro.ase@nosila, (202) 833-8773

The Ecological Society of America (ESA) is pleased to announce its 2020 Fellows. The Society's fellowship program recognizes the many ways in which its members contribute to ecological research and discovery, communication, education and pedagogy, and management and policy.

Early Career Fellows are members within eight years of completing their doctoral training (or other terminal degree) who have advanced ecological knowledge and applications and show promise of continuing to make outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA. They are elected for five years.

ESA established its fellows program in 2012 with the goal of honoring its members and supporting their competitiveness and advancement to leadership positions in the Society, at their institutions, and in broader society. Past ESA Fellows and Early Career Fellows are listed on the <u>ESA Fellows page</u>.

Early Career Fellows (2020 – 2024)

Jacob Allgeier, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Elected for integrating ecosystem and community ecology to help advance understanding of nutrient dynamics in marine ecosystems and the role of consumers in mediating these processes, and for efforts to apply this information towards the conservation of coastal marine ecosystems.



Meghan Avolio, Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins University, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Elected for her plant ecology work in grasslands and cities, where she advances novel approaches to studying biodiversity patterns, including focusing on dominant species, rank abundance curves, traits relevant for resident preferences in cities, and genetic diversity.



Carl Boettiger, Assistant Professor, University of California Berkeley, Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management

Elected for his emerging leadership in the role of stochastic dynamics in both population ecology and open science.



Lauren Hallett, Assistant Professor, University of Oregon, Department of Biology and Environmental Studies Program

Elected for making fundamental advances in population and community ecology, her effective application of ecological theory and concepts to real-world restoration problems, her adept facilitation of collaborative team science, and her commitment to open science.



Alexandra Harmon-Threatt, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, Department of Entomology

Elected for critically important research in the ecology and conservation of native bee species, and meaningful contributions to training the next generation of ecologists, public outreach, and the enhancing diversity in science.



Nyeema Harris, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Elected for her innovative research on the conservation ecology of mammals, her exceptional outreach and community engagement, and her influential work on diversifying the discipline of ecology.



Sara Kuebbing, Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Biological Sciences

Elected for her research on the impacts of invasive plant species on terrestrial plant communities and ecosystems and for her leadership in applying research to management of invaded ecosystems.



Joleah Lamb, Assistant Professor, University of California Irvine, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Elected for transformative environmental research and outstanding contributions to science communication at the interface of ecosystem function and public health, particularly solutions-based research on ecosystem services of tropical seagrass meadows, health of coral reefs, and the role of plastics across Southeast Asia as a pathway to infectious diseases of corals.

