Aquatic Ecology Section

As of August of 2013, Stephanie Hampton finished her term as chair and Tessa Francis finished her term as Secretary. The new leadership of the section is Meghan Duffy as Chair, Amy Burgin as Vice-Chair, and Stuart Jones as Secretary.

One of the most important tasks of the Aquatic Ecology section is handling our section awards. The 2013 recipient of our Thomas Frost Award was David Civitello of Indiana University. We also gave out the inaugural Exceptional Promise in Graduate Research Award; this is a new award established through a generous gift in honor of limnologist Stuart Neff. This award was given to Meryl Mims of the University of Washington. We also were able to support six students via student travel awards.

At the upcoming 2014 meeting in Sacramento, we will announce the winners of the 2014 Frost and Exceptional Promise in Graduate Research Awards, as well as award five travel awards. We will also determine the winner of the section's Best Student Talk award. Finally, we will host our annual mixer and section business meeting on Monday evening.

We are looking for someone to help us migrate our webpage to a wordpress site, and to help keep it updated after the migration. This is a great way to get involved with the section. If you would like to volunteer to help with this, please contact Meghan Duffy (duffymeg@umich.edu).

Submitted by Meghan Duffy, Chair